Deleting the preference and cache files in case of missing or greyed out windows
The preference file is damaged and needs to be deleted, due to missing windows in the software or erratic behavior of the commands in the software. Curves may also appear to have been deleted and some menus are greyed out. This kind of behaviour on the software is a clear signal that the preference file should be deleted. Deleting the preference file will not affect the image quality at all. When connecting the camera back, a calibration file is created with a specific calibration file for this back only. If several backs have been connected to the same computer, several calibration files will be present. Normally these files will not disrupt the camera back, but in rare cases the camera back will use another calibration file than the one with the specific serial number for that back only. Deleting the cache file in this case is a good starting point in troubleshooting.. The calibration file will be made automaticallly the next time the camera back is connected and will not affect the image quality whatsoever.
Deleting the preference and cache file on Mac OS 9 : On the hard drive, find and go to system folder. Find the preferences folder and inside that a folder named Phase One. In that folder is the preference file named Capture One preferences. This can be deleted. There you will also find a folder nam...